Bryan M. Everitt, associate attorney and title insurance agent with Dagger Law, recently became the newest recipient of the Ohio Land Title Professional (OLTP) designation.
Everitt is one of only 17 title professionals in Ohio to hold this designation according to the Ohio Land Title Association (OLTA). The OLTP designation is intended to recognize individuals in Ohio’s title insurance industry who have made contributions to the title industry through their respective work experience, OLTA attendance, OLTA involvement, involvement in the American Land Title and Regional Land Title Associations, and involvement with other professional organizations related to real estate.
“Bryan continues to make contributions to the title industry through his work, as well as through his involvement with national, state, and local land title associations,” said Jeff J. Spangler, co-managing partner at Dagger Law. “He is passionate about serving others and we are proud he has earned this recognition for his commitment to the real estate and title industry.”
Effective April 6, 2021, Governor Mike DeWine signed Senate Bill 175 into law. Prior to the enactment of Senate Bill 175, individuals had no duty to retreat when exercising self-defense in only two locations: (1) in his/her vehicle or (2) his/her residence. Ohioans may now use lethal force in self-defense anywhere they have a legal right to be. The trier of fact does not assess whether the litigant had the ability to retreat when examining the party’s assertion of self-defense. This modification is applicable to both criminal and civil tort claims regarding self-defense.
Effective January 1, 2021, Ohio modified its minimum wage and created three (3) different categories of pay The minimum wage in Ohio now differentiates between “large employers” and “small employers.” A “large employer” is defined as an employer who brings in more than $323,000 in gross receipts per year. If you are categorized as a large employer, the requisite minimum wage is $8.80 per hour. A “small employer” is one that accrues less than $323,000 in gross receipts per year. The minimum wage for “small employers” is $7.25 per hour. For employees who receive tips (e.g., bartenders and service industry workers), the minimum wage is $4.40 per hour.